Home > United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
1. Global
2. Africa
3. Arab States
Arab States
4. Asia & Pacific
Asia & Pacific
5. Europe
6. Latin America & Caribbean
Latin America & Caribbean
7. North America
North America
UNPAN Asia & Pacific

Public Administration News  
Malaysia Granted with New ICT Security Accreditation
Source: futuregov.asia
Source Date: Friday, October 07, 2011
Focus: Electronic and Mobile Government
Country: Malaysia
Created: Oct 11, 2011

Malaysia has become the first country in Southeast Asia and developing countries to be accepted as a Common Criteria Recognition Arrangement (CCRA) Authorising Participant member. Having joined a group of only 15 countries worldwide, Cybersecurity Malaysia can now issue Common Criteria (ISO15408) certificates on ICT products.

The Common Criteria evaluation provides an independent check and verification of ICT products security against a shared set of criteria. Products which satisfy this criteria and are awarded the ISO certification will be jointly recognised by the full 26 member countries of the CCRA.

“With this recognition, Malaysia has proven its capabilities to the world in the field of information security.” Said Dag Str?man, Chairman of Common Criteria Management Committee, “This would further bolster Malaysia’s competitiveness in quality assurance of information security based on the Common Criteria standard and build end-user confidence towards Malaysian information security solutions,”

The new Common Criteria authorising member status is expected to boost Malaysia’s already growing ICT security services industry, which is estimated to reach RM400 million (US$126 million) by the year 2014.

News Home

 Tag This
 Tell A Friend
del.icio.us digg this Slashdot
0 ratings
Views: 714

Comments: 0 Favorited: 0 Bookmarked: 0 Tagged: 0

0 Comments | Login to add comment

Site map | FAQs | Terms and Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network