Home > United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
1. Global
2. Africa
3. Arab States
Arab States
4. Asia & Pacific
Asia & Pacific
5. Europe
6. Latin America & Caribbean
Latin America & Caribbean
7. North America
North America
UNPAN Asia & Pacific

Public Administration News  
Asia CEO Awards Winners Recognized
Source: businessmirror.com.ph
Source Date: Saturday, November 13, 2010
Focus: Institution and HR Management
Created: Nov 15, 2010

With over 100 nominations and more than 50 finalists, eight names representing eight categories won the respect and admiration of some of the world’s business leaders as they were called and recognized in the first-ever Asia CEO Awards at the Dusit Thani Hotel, Makati, on Thursday.

One of the country’s largest banks, Banco de Oro, bagged the KPMG Executive Leadership Team of the Year, besting nine other big names that included ABS-CBN, Ayala Land, Convergys Philippines, GMA Network, GlaxoSmithKline Philippines, Hyundai Asia Resources, Kepco Philippines, Kraft Foods Philippines and Security Bank.

For the Technology Leadership Team of the Year, InfoWeapons won the award over Accenture Philippines, Gurango Software, Morphlabs and VOIM English. InfoWeapons Corp. is the Cebu City-based office of the Dulles, Virginia-headquartered manufacturer of IPv6-compliant Internet products. Its testing facility in the Philippines is one of only six sites in the world accredited to conduct conformance and interoperability testing under the IPv6 ready-and-enabled logo program.

Fluor Daniel Philippines Inc. received the Finance Leadership Team of the Year, with Ayala Land and Security Bank as other finalists. Fluor Daniel is engaged in providing detailed engineering design, procurement, controls and project management services for a wide range of projects applicable to industries such as electronics, petroleum and petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology.

The NorthgateArinso HR Leadership Team of the Year went to Magsaysay Maritime over Convergys Philippines, GlaxoSmithKline Philippines, IBM and Unilever Philippines.

The former two-man-team company of The Net Group brought home the Entrepreneurial Leadership Team of the Year. Other finalists included ActiveOne Health, FirstCarbon Solutions, Global Gateway Venture Capital, ICCP Venture Partners and iRemit.

Award presenter Henry Schumacher of the European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines said he really admires entrepreneurs for they have the courage to take risks and bet their money on something that they hope will be worth it in the end.

As for the Nonprofit Leadership Team of the Year, Gawad Kalinga Community Development Foundation garnered the distinction, with other deserving finalists Aboitiz Foundation, Community and Family Services International, Philippine National Red Cross and Wholistic Transformation Resource Center.

The man who braved coming into the country and stayed, Chandramogan Anamirtham of Hitachi Global Storage Technologies Philippines, won the Jones Lang LaSalle Leechiu Expatriate Executive of the Year. Other finalists included Chris Duncan-Webb, Maulik Parekh, Michael Raeuber, Sanjiv Vohra and Serge Grynkewich.

The Hitachi president and general manager admitted that the minute he stepped foot on the Manila airport, he told himself that he will make a difference in the company and his stay will be a memorable one.

For the last award, it was Manuel V. Pangi-linan of MetroPacific who emerged as the Global Filipino Executive of the Year. The business magnate won over the powerhouse set of finalists that included Antonino Aquino, Erramon Aboitiz, Felipe Gozon, Fred Ayala, James Velasquez, Javier Infante, Kingson Sian, Maria Fe Perez-Agudo, Marife Zamora, Norberto Viera and Reynaldo Vea.

Also on the same night, Lifetime Contributor awards were given to Robert Sears and Oscar Sañez.

Sears is the executive director of the American Chamber of Commerce. According to him, he already considers the country as his second home where the “best people in the world” are.

Sañez, meanwhile, is the president and CEO of the Business Processing Association of the Philippines, with over 28 years of senior management and leadership experience in consumer goods marketing in five countries.

Bernie Villegas, prominent economist, author and professor at the University of Asia and the Pacific; Don Felbaum, founder and chairman of the ICT and Health Sections of the American Chamber of Commerce; Edward Chang, president of the Korean Chamber of Commerce Philippines; Francis Estrada, chairman of De La Salle University and former CEO of the Asian Institute of Management; Henry Schumacher, founder and executive director of European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines; Nobuo Fujii, vice president and the key executive of the Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Philippines; and Richard Mills, former president of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce and a current Board of Governors member composed the board of judges.

Described as the “grandest alliance of the local and foreign business communities,” Asia CEO Awards was created to promote the Philippines on the international stage.
News Home

 Tag This
 Tell A Friend
del.icio.us digg this Slashdot
0 ratings
Views: 1556

Comments: 0 Favorited: 0 Bookmarked: 0 Tagged: 0

0 Comments | Login to add comment

Site map | FAQs | Terms and Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network