Home > United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
1. Global
2. Africa
3. Arab States
Arab States
4. Asia & Pacific
Asia & Pacific
5. Europe
6. Latin America & Caribbean
Latin America & Caribbean
7. North America
North America
UNPAN Africa
Public Administration News  
Kenya: Vision 2030, Shared Services under Devolution and Planning Portfolio in New Government Structure
Source: http://allafrica.com
Source Date: Monday, June 24, 2013
Focus: Electronic and Mobile Government, ICT for MDGs
Country: Kenya
Created: Jun 24, 2013

This announcement effectively confers Devolution and Planning Secretary Ms. Anne Waiguru authority over the management of a host of functions including the Inter-governmental Summit, Coordination of Inter-governmental Relations, Capacity Building and Technical Assistance to Counties, Office of Management and Budget, Efficiency and Monitoring, Public Service Reform and Performance Management, Research, Development and Service Delivery Innovations, Human Resource Management and Development, Training and Capacity Building, Organisational Design and Development, Career Design and Development, Public Sector Transformation including Operational Standards and Process Re-Engineering, National Economic and Social Council and Vision 2030 Advisory, National Development Planning, National Statistics Management, Monitoring and Evaluation of Economic Trends, Economic Commission for Africa, National Census and Housing Surveys, Co-ordination of CDF, Public Benefits Organizations (NGO) Co-ordination and Management, Shared Services, Population Policy Management, Kenya National Youth Policy, Promotion of Equitable Social Economic Development between Men and Women, Youth Mainstreaming in National Development, Coordination of Youth, Gender and Special Interests, Gender Mainstreaming, Gender Policy Management, Family Protection, Emergencies and Disasters Management, Northern Kenya and other Arid Lands Development Policy, Implementation of Special Programmes and Initiatives, IDP Policy and Food Relief Management.
Cabinet Secretary Waiguru also takes charge of a number of institutions, namely; NEPAD/APRM (AU Protocol), Vision 2030 Board, National Economic and Social Council, National Planning Authority, Community Development Trust Fund (ACP/EU Protocol), National Co-ordinating Agency for Population and Development, Kenya Institute of Public Policy Research and Analysis (KIPPRA), Kenya National Bureau of Statistics (KNBS), Constituency Development Fund (CDF) Board, Kenya School of Government, Efficiency Monitoring Unit (EMU), Inspectorate of State Corporations, Performance Contracting, Drought Management Authority, the Humanitarian Mitigation and Resettlement Fund.
The Constitutional Commissions and Independent Offices that now fall under the Ministry are the Transitional Authority, Public Service Commission, Youth Enterprise Development Fund, Kenya National Youth Council, Kenya Association of Youth Centres, National Youth Service, Women Enterprise Fund, NGO Board and NGO Co-ordination Bureau.
According to the Presidential Circular, there will be two Principal Secretaries dedicated for the Devolution and Planning dockets serving under the Cabinet Secretary.
News Home

 Tag This
 Tell A Friend
del.icio.us digg this Slashdot
0 ratings
Views: 359

Comments: 0 Bookmarked: 0 Tagged: 0

0 Comments | Login to add comment

Site map | FAQs | Terms and Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network