Home > United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
1. Global
2. Africa
3. Arab States
Arab States
4. Asia & Pacific
Asia & Pacific
5. Europe
6. Latin America & Caribbean
Latin America & Caribbean
7. North America
North America
UNPAN Africa
Public Administration News  
South Africa: Entrepreneur of 2013 Award Announced
Source: SA - the Good News
Source Date: Friday, May 24, 2013
Focus: Institution and HR Management
Country: South Africa
Created: May 24, 2013

Raiz was delighted that he received the Award. “In South Africa, where 96% of small businesses close within 10 years of start-up, awards such as the Oliver Empowerment Award draw great attention to the importance of enterprise development initiatives in the creation of a sustainable small business sector. On a personal level, receiving this Award shows me that the success of the work being carried out by Raizcorp has been noticed by the South African business community, as we strive to fundamentally change that statistic. This is true inspiration to carry on with our work, and push to increase the number of small businesses that we help to make sustainable through our programmes,” said Raiz. “I have been recognised internationally for my work by the World Economic Forum, amongst others, but it means so much more to me personally to be recognised in my home country.”
The judging panel included such South African business stalwarts as Ayanda Sisulu-Dunstan, Bonang Mohale, Futhi Mthoba, Gavin Pieterse, Ipeleng Mkhari, Dr Judy Dlamini, Lawrence Bhekinkosi Mavundla, Molebatsi Moagi, Ron Josias, Xolani Qubeka, Zukiswa Ntlangula and Nomaxabiso Majokweni.
The 2013 ceremony also saw the launch of a new award - the Legend of Empowerment Lifetime Achievement Award. This year the Legend of Empowerment awards went to 10 high profile South Africans, prominent in business and politics. These were Dr Mathews Phosa, Commander Tsietsi Mokhele, Dr Mamphela Ramphele, Tokyo Sexwale, Dr Rob Davies, Adv Thuli Madonsela, Cyril Ramaphosa, Patrice Motsepe, Dr Reuel Jethro Khoza and Maria Ramos.
“Being associated with these titans of South African industry and the struggle for economic transformation is a true honour and a privilege,” said Raiz, recognising that past Oliver Award winners have been established as transformational leaders in South Africa and gained international recognition.
News Home

 Tag This
 Tell A Friend
del.icio.us digg this Slashdot
0 ratings
Views: 296

Comments: 0 Bookmarked: 0 Tagged: 0

0 Comments | Login to add comment

Site map | FAQs | Terms and Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network