Home > United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
1. Global
2. Africa
3. Arab States
Arab States
4. Asia & Pacific
Asia & Pacific
5. Europe
6. Latin America & Caribbean
Latin America & Caribbean
7. North America
North America
UNPAN Africa
Public Administration News  
South Africa: Deputy Minister’s Led SA Delegation to the OGP
Source: www.dpsa.gov.za
Source Date: Monday, November 12, 2012
Focus: Knowledge Management in Government
Country: South Africa
Created: Nov 12, 2012

The OGP has a membership of 55 countries from across the world. South Africa and Tanzania are the only African members of the Steering Committees. Others are the United States, the United Kingdom, Brazil, Indonesia, Mexico, Norway and the Philippines. Besides the Anniversary the Deputy Minister had a busy schedule on matters relating to the OGP which included:
A call and discussions with the South African Consular General Committee met with the United Nations represented by Ms Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi and the World Bank. A bilateral was held with the Minister of the Philippines on the Peer Learning and Support sub-committee of the OGP.
Open Government Partnership participating countries are required to:
o Endorse a non-binding Declaration of Principles on Open Government; which South Africa has done through President Jacob Zuma on 21 September 2011.
o Develop country action plans on open government through a multi-stakeholder participatory process; which South Africa has submitted on 14 September 2011.
o Commit to scrutiny and verification of progress by a body of independent experts currently underway.
o Contribute to the advancement of open government in other countries through sharing of best practices, expertise, technical assistance, technologies and appropriate resources. South Africa is a member of the Learning and Peer Support (LPS) sub-committee of the OGP through which it is fulfilling this outreach responsibility.
All these meeting produced commitments to the OGP process, more importantly a recognition of South Africa's work in the continent and the need to provide resources in support of this objective. Officials accompanying the Deputy Ministers were: Dr. Mataywa Busieka, Mr Ismail Davids, Ms Fungi Rakoena and Ms Tsholofelo Mathabathe.
News Home

 Tag This
 Tell A Friend
del.icio.us digg this Slashdot
0 ratings
Views: 571

Comments: 0 Bookmarked: 0 Tagged: 0

0 Comments | Login to add comment

Site map | FAQs | Terms and Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network