Home > United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
1. Global
2. Africa
3. Arab States
Arab States
4. Asia & Pacific
Asia & Pacific
5. Europe
6. Latin America & Caribbean
Latin America & Caribbean
7. North America
North America
UNPAN Africa
Public Administration News  
New Ministers Sworn In
Source: Bua News
Source Date: Monday, November 01, 2010
Focus: Knowledge Management in Government
Country: South Africa
Created: Nov 02, 2010

While most of the ministers and deputy ministers were part of the executive, for young ministers like Mbalula and Gigaba, today’s ceremony was clearly a proud moment. Dlamini was first to take the oath and was immediately followed by the young Gigaba and Mbalula.


Ministers and Deputy Ministers who are changing from one department to another were not sworn in as they had already done so in their previous portfolios.


The following deputy ministers were also sworn in: Communications Obed Bapela; Social Development Maria Ntuli; Public Enterprises Benedict "Ben" Martins; Arts and Culture Dr Joseph Phaahla; Presidency: Performance, Monitoring, Evaluation and Administration Dina Deliwe Pule; Correctional Services Adv Ngoako Ramathlodi; Trade and Industry Elizabeth Thabethe; Economic Development Enoch Godongwana; Energy Barbara Thompson; Health Dr Gwen Ramokgopa; Higher Education Hlengiwe Mkhize; Home Affairs Fatima Chohan; Mineral Resources Godfrey Oliphant; Police Makhotso Magdeline Sotyu; International Relations and Cooperation Marius Fransman; Public Service and Administration Ayanda Dlodlo and Rural Development and Land Reform Thembelani Thulas Nxesi.


The newly appointed ministers are aware of the challenges facing their departments and are under pressure to deliver on the agreements signed by their predecessors.


Meanwhile, the Presidency has moved to clarify the confusion caused by the appointment of Marius Fransman to the Department of International Relations and Cooperation saying the department still has two Deputy Ministers as before.


Fransman replaces Sue van der Merwe and was not a third Deputy Minister in that department. – BuaNews


News Home

 Tag This
 Tell A Friend
del.icio.us digg this Slashdot
0 ratings
Views: 837

Comments: 0 Bookmarked: 0 Tagged: 0

0 Comments | Login to add comment

Site map | FAQs | Terms and Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network