Division for Public Administration and Development Management (DPADM)
Register | Login
4th Session

United Nations, New York
4-8 April 2005

The fourth session of the UN Committee of Experts on Public Administration was held at United Nations Headquarters from 4 to 8 April 2005.
CEPA Bureau Members
  • Chairperson:  Prime Minister Apolo Nsibambi (Uganda), Rt Hon Prime Minister of Uganda and Leader of Government Business in Parliament

  • Vice-Chairperson:  Ms. Marie-Françoise Bechtel (France), Director,  Ecole nationale d’administration

  • Vice-Chairperson:  The Honorable Jocelyne Bourgon (Canada), President Emeritus of the Canada School of Public Service

  • Vice-Chairperson:  Dr. Luiz Carlos Bresser-Pereira (Brazil), Professor of Economics at Getúlio Vargas Foundation in São Paulo

  • Vice-Chairperson:  Mr. Wang Xiaochu (China), Vice-Minister of Personnel of the People's Republic of China

  • Rapporteur:  Prof. José Oscar Monteiro (Mozambique), Visiting Professor, at the Graduate School of Public and Development Management (P&DM), Faculty of Commerce Law and Management, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

Summary of Resolutions
The Economic and Social Council:
  • Underscores the importance of public administration as a tool to support progress in connection with a wider concept of security to include human security, human rights and development in line with the Millennium Declaration;

  • Encourages countries to ratify, adopt, and implement the relevant commitments and conventions in the areas of integrity, transparency and accountability, including those related to the prevention of corrupt policies and practices;

  • Reaffirms the need to deepen the participatory processes of government to ensure citizens’ engagement to achieve the MDGs and to encourage the Secretariat to provide the analytical tools, research capacity and advisory services to this end;

  • Requests the Committee of Experts on Public Administration to deepen its analysis on the relationships between State capacity, public administration and development by identifying for the benefit of interested countries successful examples, options and solutions in public administration which have facilitated the achievement of development goals, including the MDGs;

  • Requests the Secretary-General to strengthen the capacity and the reach of the United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN) to serve as a vehicle for sharing knowledge, innovation and practices in public administration, particularly by associating more partner organizations from developing countries to the network;

  • The Secretariat to the United Nations should deepen its analytical, advisory and technical cooperation capacities to ensure that viable options of public administration practices are identified and pre-conditions for their successful adaptation clearly set out, in support of the MDGs.




  • Agenda Item 5: Promoting and Rewarding Innovations and Excellence for Revitalizing Public Administration and Service Delivery: the United Nations Public Service Awards (E/C.16/2005/5)
    Arabic Chinese English French Russian Spanish


Conference Papers
Background Information

The Committee of Experts on Public Administration (CEPA), which was established by the Economic and Social Council in its resolution 2001/45 and consists of 24 experts appointed in their personal capacity by the Council upon the nomination of the Secretary-General, held its Fourth Session at United Nations Headquarters from 4 to 8 April 2005. The session was attended by 18 Members of the Committee. Observers from organizations of the United Nations system and from inter-governmental, non-governmental and other organizations also attended.

Highlights of the Agenda of the Fourth Session include:

  • Emerging Issues in Revitalizing Public Administration
  • Bottom-up Approach and Methodologies for Developing Foundations and Principles of Sound Public Administration
  • Promoting and Rewarding Innovation and Excellence for Revitalizing Public Administration and Service Delivery: The United Nations Public Service Awards
  • Review of the United Nations activities in the area of Public Administration

On the occasion of the Fourth Session of the Committee, a special meeting was convened between the Bureau of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and the CEPA to strengthen the relationship between the two Bureaux and to explore ways on how the Council can better assist the CEPA Bureau in accomplishing their objectives.

At the request of the ECOSOC Bureau, the Division for Public Administration and Development Management of DESA organized a Round Table on Building State Capacity to Meet the MDGs for the ECOSOC 2005 High-Level Segment on "Achieving the internationally agreed developing goals, including those contained in the Millennium Declaration, as well as implementing the outcomes of the major United Nations conferences and summits: progress made, challenges and opportunities." The Committee Members and Observers attended this Round Table. Four of the Committee Members participated as panellists in the Round Table.

The Committee of Experts in Public Administration is serviced by the Division for Public Administration and Development Management (DPADM) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs.

Logistical Information

Place and Time of Meeting
The Meeting will be held at the United Nations Headquarters (Entrance:46th Street & 1st Avenue), New York. It will commence daily at 10:00 a.m. and will take place in the ECOSOC Chamber on the 4th and 8th and in Conference Room 6 from 5 - 7 April 2005.

Identification Passes
United Nations identification passes will be distributed at the Visitor's Entrance Lobby, from 9:00 to 10:00 a.m.

If necessary, participants must obtain a visa through the United States Consulate or Embassy in their country.

New York City Information

Weather – Local and the World



Mr. Guido Bertucci, Director, DPADM, UNDESA
Tel: 1-212-963-5761; Fax: 1-212-963-9681

Ms. Haiyan Qian, Secretary of the Committee
Tel: 1-212-963-3393; Fax: 1-212-963-0522
E-mail: qianh@un.org

Ms. Veda Gittens, Administrative Assistant
Tel: 1-212-963-3328; Fax: 1-212-963-9681


Ms. Princy Ariff
Ms. Rosanne Clarke
Ms. Elvira Doyle
Ms. Roxana Garcia
Ms. Joliette Jean
Mr. Luis Prugue
Ms. Adriana Ribeiro
Ms. Stella Simpas
Ms. Dolores Tanpinco


Prof. José Oscar Monteiro, Member of the Committee
Tel:258-1-306400 Email: oscarjom@yahoo.com


Mr. Jacinto De Vera, Secretary of the Committee
Tel: 212-963-0525 Email:devera@un.org

Mr. Olympios Katsiaouni, Interregional Adviser, SGMB, DPADM, DESA
Tel:1-212-963-6417 Email:katsiaouni@un.org

Mr. Michael Mimicopoulos, Senior Economic Affairs Officer, KMB, DPADM, DESA
Tel:1-212-963-7565 Email:mimicopoulos@un.org

Ms. Mary Christine Ong, SGMB, DPADM, DESA
Tel: 1-212-963-4758 Email:ongm@un.org

Ms. Gay Rosenblum-Kumar, Public Administration Officer, GPAB, DPADM, DESA
Tel:1-212-963-8381 Email:rosenblum-kumar@un.org

Ms. Sarah Sher, KMB, DPADM, DESA
Tel: 1-9174257 Email:sher@un.org

Copyright 2008-2010 by UNPAN - United Nations Public Administration Network